2018 Annual Clinical  Assembly of Osteopathic Surgeons

October 17 - 21
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
Atlanta, Georgia

Thank You!

Thank you for attending the 2018 ACA, October 17 - 21, 2018 at the Marriott Marquis in Atlanta, Georgia.   

This year's ACA hosted over 1200 attendees, 180 presenters, 3 dynamic keynote speakers and an informative and engaging Theodore F. Classen Memorial Lecture. Educational Programming was offered in six surgical disciplines: Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgery, General Surgery, Neurological Surgery, Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, Proctological Surgery, and Urological Surgery. Attendees were able to earn American Osteopathic Association continuing medical education (AOA CME) credit and AMA PRA-1 credit by participating in this year's ACA. The scheduled program was valued at a maximum of 26.75 credit hours. 

Conference Highlights

New ACOS Board Officers

President:  Todd A. Nickloes, D.O., FACOS, FACS
President-Elect:  Larry G. Armstrong, D.O., FACOS
Past-President:  Ray L. Morrison, D.O., FACOS
Secretary-Treasurer:  Eugene W. Laveroni, Jr., D.O., FACOS

ACOS Governors

General Surgery

David L. Acuna, D.O., FACOS
J. Bracken Burns, Jr., D.O., FACOS
*Stuart J. D. Chow, D.O., FACOS
Kristen J. Conrad-Schnetz, D.O., FACOS
Nelayda Fonte, D.O., FACOS
Janie L. Orrington-Myers, D.O., FACOS, FACS
Neurological Surgery

Michael A. Campanelli, D.O., FACOS
Francesco T. Mangano, D.O., FACOS
Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

David B. Dellinger, D.O., FACOS

Christopher A. Reeder, D.O., FACOS
Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgery

Eugene W. Laveroni, Jr., D.O., FACOS
John W. Royalty, D.O., FACOS
Urological Surgery

Nancy J. Lobby, D.O., FACOS

W. Britt Zimmerman, D.O., FACOS
Resident Section Chair

Daniel Edwards, D.O.


Bold denotes a new Board Member
*At large member of the Executive Committee


Lectures, Meetings and More!

We were honored to host a diverse group of speakers for our keynote sessions and Theodore F. Classen Memorial Lecture this year.

The keynote that kicked off this year's ACA was delivered by Michael Daniel, Cybersecurity Advisor to President Barack Obama (2012 - 2016) and President, Cyber Threat Alliance, in a joint keynote held in conjunction with the American Osteopathic Academy of Orthopedics. Zachary W. Brown, D.O., shared his extraordinary experiences as a deployed trauma surgeon working in austere environments across the globe. W. Britt Zimmerman, D.O., FACOS, discussed the importance of planning and the realities of providing medical care following severe weather events, offering recommendations from recent first-hand experience with Hurricane Florence. 

The take-aways from this year's keynotes were varied, from the importance of creating multiple, complex passwords to access patient records and medical equipment, to the realistic considerations of performing surgery on a population who will have no follow-up care once U.S. troops have left an area, to making tough decisions with patients when resources are little to none due to a catastrophic storm.

This year's Theodore F. Classen Memorial Lecture from Katie Neuendorf, M.D. offered surgeons perspective and advice on communicating with patients and their families.

Lectures, Meetings and More!

OMT in your surgical practice
Featuring a hands-on demonstration by Dawn Tartaglione, D.O., FACOS, this session gave attendees a practical example of the effectiveness and relief associated with using post-op OMT with applicable patients.
SOSA Speed Mentoring
The ever popular speed mentoring session was back with a productive vengeance! Many students took advantage of the opportunity to speak with and receive guidance from a variety of mentors on multiple topics.
Scientific Research Presentations & Awards Reception

The Awards Committee was extremely impressed with the 2018 applications for the Resident Achievement Awards and the Robert C. Erwin Literary Awards. In addition, there were a number of outstanding submissions for this year's poster competition.

Resident Achievement Award recipients were: Betty Fan, D.O. (General Surgery); Alice A. Higdon, D.O. (General Surgery); James Howard Kurtz, D.O. (General Surgery); Robert Marc Moskowitz, D.O. (General Vascular Surgery); and Scott R. Moradian, D.O. (General Surgery).

Robert C. Erwin Literary Award Winners were:  5th Place - Ching Man Carmen Tong, D.O. (Urological Surgery); 4th Place - Alireza Daneshpajouh, D.O. (General Surgery); 3rd Place - Daniel C. Edwards, D.O. (Urological Surgery); 2nd Place - Meghan E. Wooster, D.O. (General Surgery) and 1st Place - also awarded to Alireza Daneshpajouh, D.O. (General Surgery).

The winners of the 2018 Scientific Poster competition were: Jonathan Murdock, D.O. (Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgery); Ahmed Ghamraoui, D.O. (Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgery); Seth Ladd, D.O. (Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery); Lauren Wright, D.O. (Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery); Christopher Capicotto, OMS4 (Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery); Edward Skicki, D.O. (General Surgery); Leandra Jelinek, D.O. (General Surgery); Cara Marie Rogers, D.O. (Neurological Surgery); Christopher Busch, D.O. (Neurological Surgery); Daniel Edwards, D.O. (Urological Surgery); Safi Mohammed, D.O. (Urological Surgery); Joseph Zanghi, D.O. (Urological Surgery); Kevin Carocci, OMS4 (Urological Surgery).

Ceremonial Conclave
The ACOS Ceremonial Conclave is always a special occasion. It represents the continuation of a tradition of excellence in the practice of, and commitment to, the principles of osteopathy in the practice of surgery.

The College welcomed 106 new members and 66 new Fellows.

Michael G. Moncman, D.O., FACOS
2018 Orel F. Martin Award Recipient

Sadly, Dr. Moncman passed away suddenly prior to  receiving this Award. His son, Dr. Ryan Moncman, a neurosurgery resident at Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine, delivered the acceptance speech written by his father prior to his passing. Ryan and his mother (Mrs. Patricia Moncman), accepted the Orel F. Martin Award on behalf of Dr. Michael Moncman.



Gary L. Roth
2018 Charles L. Ballinger Distinguished Osteopathic Surgeon Award Recipient




John P. Smith, Jr., D.O., FACOS
2018 Humanitarian Award Recipient

John Potts III, M.D. and Dawn R. Tartaglione, D.O., FACOS
2018 Presidential Citation Award Recipients 


2019 Annual Clinical Assembly

The 2018 ACA is now in the books.

We look forward to seeing everyone who came this year, at next year's conference. And for those of you who missed this year's ACA, be sure not to miss the 2019 ACA in Colorado Springs, Colorado!